Uncategorized

Take Two With Greens & Blues!

So in this trial dying session I tried to take some more detailed (but probably slightly less interesting) photographs of the three step process that I used.

Once again I used Landscape Dyes, this time I used a larger amount of dye per skein so we have stronger and darker results… Which may or mayn’t have worked…. The dye bath is outside on the back step cooling down before the yarn gets a wash!

I decided to give resistance dyeing a try. So the first two colours are set into the hand when its twisted and then for the third and strongest colour I knotted the hank. I may or may not add speckling to the yarn… It’s dependant on a) if there are any large dyed patches that I missed and b) if i’m that bothered about the undyed patches or paler colours if there are any.

I love the way that this hank has turned out, I’m really impressed with how the colours have mixed and bled. I have some white patches but I really like that too, the contrast brings out the depth of the other colours. It all reminds me of some really beautiful long costal walks around the south cost of Cornwall, the deep blue of the sea mixed with the dark greens of the hillsides and the white clouds next to the cliff tops…. I wish I was back there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

So how did I achieve these colours this time round? Well the hank went into three different colours – pale blue – darker teal blue – dark green. Each time I changed the way that the files would reach the dye so different parts reacted with it.

Bath 1 – pale blue –  quite a high twist hank so that only a small number of the outside areas were penetrated by the dye

Bath 2 – Darker Teal – Low twist hank preserving some of the paler blue on the inside of the hank.

Bath 3 – Dark green – Two large knots were placed at either end to preserve the colour and then the outer and exposed areas were dyed dark green.

I think you’ll agree the results are really fun and interesting. I used a lot more dye this time than I did the first time I dyed so that the colours are more intense.

IMG_7520

 

Material List:

3 separate acid dye complimentary colours  in varying degrees of intensity.

A mordant if you need it for your dyes to take (I use a premix dye that has everything in)

Gloves

Skeined Yarn – pre soaked for at least an hour

A large metal cooking pot

A heat source

A mask, for when you’re handling dye powder – safety first!

Tongs or a trusty stick to get the yarn out of the warm water

String – to tie round the hanks so they’re easier to fish out of the dye pots and handle

A nice smelling wool soak or wash

Teaspoon or measuring spoon/scales to measure out your dye.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

